Caution! Writing A Complaint About A Hotel? You May Get A Reply Like This

by SharonKurheg

Although TripAdvisor has its advantages and disadvantages, one “test,” if you will, is whether or not a representative from the establishment writes a reply to a review. If they do, you can assume (or maybe just hope) they’re interested in their guests’ feedback.

Even then, you can tell how invested (s)he is – “Thank-you for your kind review” or “We’re sorry you weren’t happy” doesn’t bode as well as a representative that replies with something specific to what the person wrote (i.e., “We love Maria at the front desk too, and we showed her what you said about her; she was very pleased and says ‘thank-you'” or “We’re sorry you had so much trouble with getting enough towels; we’ve forwarded your comments to the head of housekeeping so they can look into the issue.”).

Anyway, we think we’ve found the most involved, conscientious hotel manager ever.

Back in 2017, a hotel in Ireland got a scathing review from one lovnhawaii. Now, I looked at the 10 reviews that Mrs. lovnhawaii wrote, and until this year, she’s seemed pretty upbeat about where she’s stayed – from Eatontown, NJ to South Water Caye, Belize all lovnhawaii ever gave were 5-star reviews. Unfortunately for the Hotel Doolin, a boutique hotel in County Clare, Ireland (#2 of 4 hotels in Doolin, with an overall 4.5 star rating on TripAdvisor), the 5-star reviews stopped there. Here’s what she wrote:

Screen Shot 2020-01-08 at 12.54.15 PM

My trip through Ireland up to this point was wonderful. Of course we decided to keep on driving to the cliffs and would get a place to stay once we thought it was just a good time to eat and stop. Emma at the desk lied to me. At first she told me that her only availability was a double bed but we had three people (myself, husband and son). So I asked if she could recommend another place in town and she told me that there was only BB in town and no other hotels. We decided to make a few calls and then she said she could put us in a handicap bathroom that has a double and a single bed. The price then jumped up considerably of course because we went to needing that single bed. Base price was 240 Euro per night. She went onto say that they have high star rating and basically the best in town. We were hungry and tired. So we booked the unit. Ate a meal at Flannigans which they also own/attached to the hotel. Talk about attitudes. Wow, up until this point the irish are awesome. But these folks I wanted to leave as quickly as I could before being snarled out from a bunch of grumpy ole men, overworked and despise one more traveler packing in the joint. Food was OK, I would give it a C+ at best.
We drove around after we ate and there were so many more places to stay with vacancy. and Here is what really was a bummer. They advertise for free wifi. It is the worst wifi ever!!!
So Emma– stop the dishonest approach. Work with your customers and be truthful with them. There are so many other hotels right in the nearby area available and I bet has way better amenities..The wifi is so bad it could not even load up a small pics or video ( you do not get what you paid for). Floors/carpet is filthy.
The response of the hotel’s General Manager, Donal Minihane, is no longer posted, but it was captured by some online entities. And thank heavens it was, because it truly is a treasure:

Dear Lovinhawaii,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Doolin on your recent trip to Ireland and for posting your feedback. We were very disappointed with the content of your review.

However, after investigating the particulars of your stay in detail with all team members I was even more disappointed to learn that the content of the review was not an accurate reflection of what actually happened.

From the title of your review, other readers would think that you inadvertently stumbled into Hitchcock’s Jamaica Inn and that Hotel Doolin was full of brigands and cutthroats, that our staff wear eye patches and pantaloons and are hiding behind the pillars in the lobby, cutlass clenched between our teeth, waiting to jump out and pillage passers-by.

You say the hotel is deceitful and dishonest and that one of our staff members, Emma, is a liar when, in fact, it is your good self that is being liberal with the truth.

Emma did make a mistake on check-in with the rate, this was spotted the following morning by one of our more senior receptionists and was rectified before you checked out so that you never paid € 240 as you stated above.

Also, the duty manager met you the following morning, apologised for the mistake and gave you a further reduction on your rate.

We are 100% certain that Emma made a genuine mistake, as sometimes people do, and we feel it is very unfair and irresponsible of you to call her a liar and dishonest on a public forum.

I’m sensing a lot of anger in the review above and I know that you probably didn’t mean to let loose all that anger on us.

Hey, sometimes people just need to vent. Sometimes at night when I come home from a long day’s work at the hotel, I check to see if everyone is in bed and then I go out into the field at the back of my house and scream into the darkness. I let it all out, like a wolf on a moonlit mountain.

I feel better after that and nobody gets hurt. I’m not saying howling into the night like a wolf will work for you, I don’t know your circumstances, you may have neighbours that’ll think it is weird, but there are other ways of channelling rage that don’t have to involve Hotel Doolin and slandering Emma.

With regards the Wi-Fi, yes, the Wi-Fi in the west of Ireland is the worst in Europe, there is nothing we can do about this for the moment, although I think we are getting high-speed broadband in the area pretty soon. in the meantime, to anybody else reading this review. DO NOT COME TO DOOLIN IF WI-FI IS MORE IMPORTANT TO YOU THAN HUMAN INTERACTION, YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED.

There are three men over the age of forty working in the hotel. Only one of them was working on the night you stayed, so we didn’t know how to deal with the ‘grumpy old men’ in your review, until my assistant manager came up with the only viable solution.

We’ve decided to execute all three of these men to ensure that no other guests will have to endure the horrific ordeal you went through that evening in the bar.

Paul, Martin and Luis will be blindfolded and shot in the back of the head at Fitz’s cross after mass this Sunday. There will be trad music, cocktail sausages and face-painting for the kids and I can organise a pair of complimentary tickets for you if you wish to attend.

I know this will not make up for what happened to you but we hope it will go some way towards showing you that we take your feedback seriously.

You see, even though you hurt us deeply with your review, we’d still like to be friends, we’d love if you afforded us the opportunity to change your opinion of us and hope that you will return to Doolin someday.

In fact, each year on the 30th February we have a party for our valued past customers who think we are liars, we all hold hands and dance around a campfire and sing songs that help us forget about the past and look with hope towards the future. We’d love if you could make it (that lying cheating ruffian Emma won’t be there, we promise).”

It should be noted that aside from his hotel manager duties (according to his LinkedIn profile, he’s still at the Hotel Doolin), Donal Minihane is a writer, as well as the founder and curator of Doolin Writers’ Weekend, Doolin Folk Festival & Doolin Roots Festival.

By the way, according to their presence on TripAdvisor, Hotel Doolin now advertises free high-speed WiFi. I’m sure Mrs. lovnhawaii would be pleased 😉

Want to comment on this post? Great! Read this first to help ensure it gets approved.

Want to sponsor a post, write something for Your Mileage May Vary, or put ads on our site? Click here for more info.

Like this post? Please share it! We have plenty more just like it and would love it if you decided to hang around and sign up to get emailed notifications of when we post.

Whether you’ve read our articles before or this is the first time you’re stopping by, we’re really glad you’re here and hope you come back to visit again!

This post first appeared on Your Mileage May Vary


David January 8, 2020 - 3:25 pm

He didn’t have to offer to shoot the three men. He could have offered to have them stand at the busiest intersection in town in a “sandwich board” with, “I spied for the Queen” written on it!

Joseph N. January 8, 2020 - 9:31 pm

Not just hotels. I’ve seen this in reviews of auto mechanics. Someone will write a scathing review, and then the mechanic will respond with the previously omitted details, and blow the complainer out of the water.

SharonKurheg January 8, 2020 - 10:27 pm

Totally off topic but holy crap, is your email address original from the 90s????

Christian January 8, 2020 - 9:53 pm

And there I thought beheadings were more traditional. Just shows what I know.

Jeff Bowles January 17, 2020 - 10:07 am

Those poor men.

Johan Horak July 1, 2021 - 7:02 am

Excellent story. We do Airbnb and sometimes feel like this. But we need to learn how to write responses like this. We had a bad guest. More your typical “fool” who seems really kind but with a fools intent to do damage. Not only for herself but also for her friends and daughters in this case. And what she did with us she may have repeated after leaving us. Odd. I call here Connie the Gasser as she hates gas.

yourauntiemame May 19, 2022 - 2:49 pm

I can see after a long day and not a lot of “joy” at the front desk can cause a serious case of “snark” but she should have corrected her original post……BUT…..I understand a humorous and snarky reply in response but other than howling at the moon….I think Donal’s response could have had more impact with just the facts and humour sans snark. The murders were probably unnecessary and I appreciated the honest follow up about the bill correction. …even the poor Western Ireland WIFI. I am more impressed with a positive human contact than an unnecessary text from the States!

Anita November 22, 2022 - 10:50 am

Well, my view (and you may all disagree) is that both parties behaved badly. If you leave a negative review, you have an obligation to be accurate, fair and to the point. You don’t need to disparage anyone. On the other hand the Hotel’s response, which I assume was supposed to be funny, was rude, ignorant and certainly not befitting the Manager of a hotel. He must have thought that the guest was monitoring the site for his response, so she could correct the information on the room credit. Most people just move on. The best thing would have been for the employee to acknowledge the tired and hungry guest ( you know, be nice to travelers. They pay your salary) and call them and correct the room rate. If she didn’t know the correct room rate, the Manager needs to remove her from that role. In summary, I wouldn’t stay there on a bet.

jsn55 November 22, 2022 - 12:18 pm

What a GREAT article! Thank you for making my day start with a laugh. So good to see a jerk who posts this kind of review brought down. This guy is amazing!


Leave a Comment